Queso?

March 12, 2008 at 6:43 pm 1 comment

Dinner for Monday night was at Manuel’s in downtown. Unfortunately, the theme of most eating events is getting stuffed to the point where our buttons are popping. :X Everything IS truly big in Texas.

Antonia and I heard of this dish called, Queso – cheese in Spanish. We heard great things about it and immediately wanted to order it when we saw it on the menu. I’m not a big fan of cheese, but hey, I was determined to have an authentic dining experience in Texas.

Turns out, it’s a bowl of melted cheese (what else was I expecting? No idea). It came in a small bowl of Monterey jack and cheddar cheese with chopped jalapeños and a scarce amount of tomatoes….all topped with a layer of oil. Sounds gross and definitely did not look that appetizing to me. I put a little amount of the mixture into a tortilla and I was instantly satisfied. Basically, a quesadilla.

Manuel’s

Oh my…and the chips and salsa! Before the queso came, I was munching away on chips (on too many, I might add). It was fresh and hot when it arrived to our table. The salsa was ok, but I LOVED the chips. I’ve never had this type of tortilla chips before. It tasted like Sun Chips – the same texture, but without the flavor. Surprisingly, they weren’t greasy and left your fingers oily. They tasted like they were baked…yum. I would love to order a bag if I could….

My next dish was a plate of chicken enchiladas in mole sauce with black beans and rich. It was raved as “Austin’s best enchilada.” Quite good, but after finishing only my first enchilada, I could not eat anymore. Somehow, I did finish both. :X

Manuel’s
Looks like a blob, I know, which it was.

Manuel’s
Antonia’s sizzling beef fajitas

I was too stuffed for dessert but I was ready for them to roll me out of the restaurant and carry me to my bed.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Mixture of Mediums Applications, Widgets, Media That Sort of Thing

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. antonia  |  March 18, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    sigh–i already miss queso.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2008
S M T W T F S
    Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Most Recent Posts


